top of page

Edition 2019 

Giovanna_Tinetti_Nada _Raddaoui_Iolanda_Oswath__edited.jpg

Dr. Nada Raddaoui  wins the
Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year Award 2021, Iolanda Osvath the Awardfor Monaco,
Dr. Giovanna Tinetti the Special Award

The “ Prix Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year ” is celebrating its tenth anniversary, under the High Patronage of HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco .

The 10th edition of the Prix Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year took place in the Salle Empire of the Hôtel de Paris.

Journalist Cinzia Sgambati Colman and Mrs. Ornella Barra, Chief Operating Officer International of Walgreens Boots Alliance, sponsor of the event since its first edition, also invited the winners of previous editions.

The three winners of the 2021 Prize received the trophy on the occasion of this evening, an edition which had not taken place due to the Covid pandemic. Let us briefly recall who are these women chosen for their exceptional work on the subject of scientific research, in the fields of cancer, astrophysics and radioactivity.

Monte-Carlo International Woman of the Year Award:

Dr. Nada Raddaoui , for identifying a new method to diagnose blood cancer;


Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year Award for Monaco:

Mrs. Iolanda Osvath , For having developed innovative methodologies for very low radioactivity measurements which led her to lead the ALMERA network and for her contribution to the establishment of a unique underground laboratory in the Principality;


Monte-Carlo Special Prize: Dr. Giovanna Tinetti , for identifying water vapor in the atmosphere of an Earth-like planet outside our solar system.

Prix Monte-Carlo Femme de l'Année 2022_ groupe_ WSM_EdWImages_-.jpg

An evening that traced the history of the Prize, full of emotions. In the presence of the Government Counselor-Minister representing the Minister of State, Céline Caron-Dagioni, the President of the National Council, Stéphane Valeri, the Government Counselor-Minister for Foreign Affairs, Isabello Berro Amadei, also President of the Women's Rights Commission; the Vice-President of the National Council, Brigitte Boccone-Pages, and the Ambassadors Mireille Martini Pettiti and Evelyne Genta.

The latter, Ambassador to the United Kingdom, received a tribute for her career from President Cinzia Colman, the Prize Committee and sponsor Mrs. Ornella Barra, for her great commitment to the Principality but also a widely recognized human commitment. .

Unexpectedly, Dr. Ornella Barra also received a tribute for her commitment to women and for having supported the Prize and the Monaco Women Forum.


Also present at the Prize evening were the winners of the 10th anniversary of the Prize: Maria Betti 2012; Diane Harper 2013; Francien Giraudi 2014; Jacqueline De Bernardi 2015; Sister Anne Marie Salomon 2017; Michele Mitchell 2017; Geraldine Rey 2018; Elena Rossoni-Notter 2019.


Some of the winners then took part in the 5th Monaco Women Forum , under the High Patronage of HSH Prince Albert II. Diane Harper, Nada Raddoui, Giovanna Tinetti and Michele Mitchelle shared their experiences the next day, May 3, within the National Council on the theme “Science and Technology for a modern and fairer society” . After the opening speech by Mr.Stephane Valeri, and Mrs. Ornella Barra, we had the honor of a special speech for the Forum by Mrs. Michelle Bachelet, High Commissioner for Human Rights,  significant recognition on the part of Madame Bachelet for this Forum of the Principality. The Sovereign was represented by Mrs Isabelle Costa of the Prince's Cabinet; the Minister of the Environment was represented by Mrs. Valerie Davenet; Chief of Staff to Minister of State Laurence Garino; also present the vice-president of the FPA2 of Monaco Olivier Wenden; the Intergovernmental Delegate for the Protection of Women's Rights, Céline Cottalorda.

Prix Monte-Carlo Femme de l'Année 2022_ groupe_ WSM_EdWImages_-
bottom of page