top of page


Edition 2018

Geraldine Rey  wins  the
2018 Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year Award
Yelena Isinbaeva wins the Award for Monaco
Isabelle Henchoz wins the Special Award

The 2018 Monte-Carlo “Woman of the Year” Award  has its winners for this year's theme: “Women and Sports”. They are Geraldine Rey (France),  Yelena Isinbaeva (Russia) Award for Monaco, and Isabelle Henchoz (Switzerland) Special Award.

Géraldine Rey was elected winner of the Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year Award for having contributed to leading women into motorsport, by providing concrete assistance in underprivileged areas.


Yelena Isinbaeva received the Monte-Carlo "Woman of the Year Award" for Monaco for using her notoriety to help struggling children and talented young people. She created her own foundation and also holds the title of Peace and Sport Champion for Peace.

Isabelle Henchoz received the Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year – Special Award for having dedicated her life to helping others, for the dissemination and practice of sports for people with reduced mobility.

A moment of emotion was shared with the interview of Julie Gautier, guest of honor of the evening, French apnea record woman, director and dancer, who produced and interpreted a video dedicated to pain. "A deep pain that I have proven in my life - she said during her interview with Valentina Colman, Secretary General of the Award - and that I wanted to share with other women". AMA, which is also visible on Youtube (, is an apnea dance of great delicacy and emotion.

During the cocktail, the public was surprised by a highly applauded performance by the Femina Sport acrobatic team formed by Kimberly Arnulf.

HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco received the winners in audience at the Palace, accompanied by the President of the Award, Cinzia Sgambati Colman and by Ornella Barra, Co-Chief Operating Officer of WBA, sponsor of the Award. Also featured the guest of the evening, free diver Julie Gautier. 


Monaco Channel report in Italian

History Women and Sport

bottom of page