MONACO WOMEN FORUM

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
Monaco Women Forum_Michelle Bachelet_ONU - copie.jpg

The 5th Monaco Women Forum, under the High Patronage of HSH Prince Albert II, was held on Tuesday 3 May 2022, within the National Council, on the theme "Science and Technology for a modern and fairer society". Diane Harper, Nada Raddoui, Giovanna Tinetti Michele Mitchell, winners of the Monte-Carlo Woman of the Year Prize, shared their experiences.

 

After the opening speech by Mr.Stephane Valeri, and Mrs. Ornella Barra, we had the honor of receiving a special intervention for the Forum from Mrs. Michelle Bachelet, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights. Important recognition on the part of Madame Bachelet for this Forum of the Principality. The Sovereign was represented by Mrs Isabelle Costa of the Prince's Cabinet; the Minister of the Environment was represented by Mrs. Valerie Davenet; Chief of Staff to Minister of State Laurence Garino; also present the vice-president of the FPA2 of Monaco Olivier Wenden; the Intergovernmental Delegate for the Protection of Women's Rights, Céline Cottalorda

Monaco Women Forum1.JPG

The Monaco Women Forum opens with a speech by Mr. Valeri, who expresses his pride in receiving in his hemicycle these women rewarded the day before at the Monte Carlo Woman of the Year Prize for the value of their respective discoveries.  

It is recalled in the introduction that this is not a feminist forum but a "Forum committed to women alongside men" on the initiative of Cinzia Sgambati Colman and with the unfailing support of Ornella Barra.

Opening of Ornella Barra, thanks to the participants and guests, if we want a fairer world it will be done through health, the green deal and gas reduction projects by 2050, although necessary, are very ambitious, especially given of the new context with the war in Ukraine. We must transform environmental challenges, and this is becoming an essential challenge.

During the video speech by Michelle Bachelet, High Commissioner for Human Rights, who could not be present to support the Forum, she recalled her commitment to the rights of men and women, her fight for the rights people who fills her with passion, the fight against discrimination, among others.

Stephane Valeri_Monaco Women Forum.jpg
Ornella Barra_Monaco Women Forum.JPG

-1st discussion: decarbonization and scientific research 

The environment is a major determinant for human health through various factors (air, water, etc.) and all human activities have an impact on health and the environment, which are therefore inseparable. The health sector has a key role in climate change and can become a leader in this area 

- Diane Harper, a professor in the department at the University of Michigan, says that in her area of expertise, the HPV vaccine and the ability to self-test makes it easier to detect the disease in larger populations of women regardless of their financial means. The majority of cancers are often linked to environmental pollution, so detection and prevention are key to reducing mortality.

 

- Doctor Nada Raddaoui, specialist in blood cancer, recommends moving towards a "modern society". The research is not consistent with the growth of society eg the waste of plastic. We must develop an economy in accordance with research for practical application in everyday life.

The example of RNA messenger showed that time and investment are necessary and that it can sometimes be very long (sometimes 20 years). The economy cannot be dependent on research, so emphasis must be placed on research, the only way to develop a modern society.

_DSC2046.JPG
_DSC2042.JPG

- 2nd discussion technology and the environment:

Nathalie Hilmi, Research Officer - Environmental Economics at the Scientific Center of Monaco, recalls the latest IPCC report which told us that we were already in code red, the increase in temperature of 1.9°C while the limit is 1.5°C.

The intensification of weather phenomena, the loss of ecosystems, 3.6 million people made aware of climate change, the lack of water, climate migrations in the world, etc. 

We need to be net zero in 2050 and 2070.

Reduce carbon quotas either with forests or in the ocean with blue carbon.

There are solutions, mangrove ecosystems and new energies.

 

Is technology at the service of the environment? 

-Engineer Marco Casiraghi answers, we already have effective technologies but not applied enough, such as solar panels.

We are approaching lower costs. To speed up the process, we must help researchers, young researchers (ref solar energy boat) to also educate children with activities using innovative and non-polluting technologies, electric helicopters...

 

-How can space research contribute to the green transition? 

Professor Giovanna Tinetti, researcher in galactic planetary sciences at UCL and ESA collaborator, replies that satellite data gives us the nature of the changes with precision. Monitoring to understand climatology and interpreting satellites and putting the earth in a broader context also gives very interesting parameters for comparison over time. 

Applications by 2050, climate monitoring, the "space economy" is an opportunity for economic growth. It is therefore crucial to have initiatives from the private sector and the GVT.

giovanna tinetti_Monaco women forum.jpg
_DSC2058.JPG

- Dr. Stefano Besseghini, President of the Regulatory Authority for Energy and the Environment, indicated that it is difficult to satisfy all parties, consumers and authorities. A balance must be established between energy and needs to avoid waste. 

Water is one of the issues. We cannot have a single approach to all energies, we need an opportunistic sector-dependent economy and not miss opportunities. 

We introduce a taxonomy to regulate environmental economics and try to achieve all the same goals, we try to open the field of possibilities to apply a certain innovation.

 

-Valentino Iakimov, engineer and founder of the start-up Sea Further, intervenes by recalling that it is necessary to make environmental drivers green. It works with graphene in large volumes, which is an economic advantage. Ecologically, it has no chemical approach but works with organic processes of mineral salts which transform it. Powdered graphene could lead to the removal of rare metals.

Financiers are moving towards a greener economy and an exit from fossil fuels 

_DSC2078.JPG
_DSC2081.JPG

- The interventions conclude with that of Michelle Mitchell, filmmaker and journalist, who revised her opinion, as many thought that the improvement of the female condition passed through education but who now realizes that first it passes through health! Without it, nothing is possible, for a better and fairer life you need full access to care. Shocked, she evokes the news of what is happening in the USA on abortion and which she considers an unimaginable regression for women. To help women, they must be given access to decision-making positions on security and peace, their involvement at the decision-making level on these issues is crucial.

 

Cinzia Sgambati Colman, organizer of the forum, concluded the meeting with a question: what can women born in the most favored regions of our planet do? And a wish: that this forum could be a Manifesto for the transition to a green economy and that it could start from the Principality of Monaco.

_DSC2090.JPG
_DSC2111.JPG

MONACO WOMEN FORUM
2022

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
Monaco Women Forum_Michelle Bachelet_ONU - copie.jpg

Le 5ème Monaco Women Forum, Sous le Haut Patronage de S.A.S. le Prince Albert II, s'est tenu le mardi 3 Mai 2022, au sein du Conseil National, sur le thème « Sciences et Technologie pour une société moderne et plus équitable ». Diane Harper, Nada Raddoui, Giovanna Tinetti Michele Mitchell, lauréates du Prix Monte-Carlo Femme de l'Année, ont partagé leurs expériences.

 

Après le discours d’ouverture de M.Stephane Valeri, et de Madame Ornella Barra, nous avons eu l'honneur de recevoir une intervention spéciale pour le Forum de Madame Michelle Bachelet, Haut-Commissaire des Droits de l’Homme ONU. Une reconnaissance importante de la part de Madame Bachelet pour ce Forum de la Principauté. Le Souverain était représenté par Madame Isabelle Costa du Cabinet Princier ; le Ministre de l’environnement était rappresentée par Madame Valerie Davenet ; le Chef du Cabinet du ministre d’État Laurence Garino ; présent aussi le vice-président de la FPA2 de Monaco Olivier Wenden ; la Délégué Intergouvernemental per la protection des Droits des femmes, Céline Cottalorda

Monaco Women Forum1.JPG

Le Monaco Women Forum ouvre sur un discours de M. Valeri, qui exprime sa fierté de recevoir au sein de son hémicycle ces femmes récompensées la veille au Prix Monte Carlo Femme de l’Année pour la valeur de leurs découvertes respectives. 

Il est rappelé en introduction que ce n’est pas un forum féministe mais un "Forum engagé pour les femmes aux cotés des hommes" à l’initiative de Cinzia Sgambati Colman et avec le soutien indéfectible d'Ornella Barra.

Ouverture d'Ornella Barra, remerciements aux participants et invités, si nous voulons un monde plus équitable cela se fera par la santé, les projets de green deal et de reduction de gaz d’ici 2050 bien que nécessaires, sont très ambitieux surtout compte tenu du nouveau contexte avec la guerre en Ukraine. Il faut transformer les défis environnementaux, et cela devient un challenge indispensable.

Durant le discours video de Michelle Bachelet, Haut Commissaire aux Croits de l’Homme, qui n’a pu être en présentiel pour soutenir le Forum, elle rappelle son engagement en faveur des droits des personnes hommes et femmes, sa lutte en faveur des droits humains qui la remplit de passion, la lutte contre la discrimination, entre autres.

Stephane Valeri_Monaco Women Forum.jpg
Ornella Barra_Monaco Women Forum.JPG

-1ère discussion: la décarbonisation et la recherche scientifique 

L’environnement est un déterminant majeur pour la santé humaine à travers différents facteurs (air, eau etc) et toutes les activités humaines ont un impact sur la santé et l’environnement qui sont donc indissociables. Le secteur de la santé a un rôle clef sur le changement climatique et peut devenir Leader dans ce domaine 

- Diane Harper, professeur au département de l’Université du Michigan, affirme que dans son domaine d’expertise, le vaccin contre le papillomavirus et la possibilité de faire des auto test facilite la détection de la maladie au sein de plus larges populations de femmes quel que soient leurs moyens financiers. La majorité des cancers sont souvent liés à la pollution de l’environnement, donc la détection et la prévention sont primordiales pour faire chuter la mortalité.

 

- Le docteur Nada Raddaoui, spécialiste du cancer du sang, préconise d’aller vers sur une "société moderne". La recherche n’est pas en accord avec la croissance de la société par exemple, le gaspillage du plastique. Il faut développer une économie en accord avec la recherche pour une mise en pratique dans la vie de tous les jours.

L’exemple de l'ARN messenger a montré que le temps et les investissements sont nécessaires et que cela peut être parfois très long (parfois 20 ans). L’économie ne peut être dépendante de la recherche, il faut donc mettre l’accent sur la recherche, le seul moyen de développer une société moderne.

_DSC2046.JPG
_DSC2042.JPG

- 2ème discussion la technologie et l’environnement:

Nathalie Hilmi, Chargée de Recherche - Économie Environnementale au Centre Scientifique de Monaco, rappelle le dernier rapport du GIEC qui nous a indiqué que nous étions déjà en code rouge, l’augmentation de la température de 1,9 °C alors que la limite est 1, 5 °c.

L'intensification des phénomènes météo, la perte d’éco systèmes, 3,6 millions de personnes sensibilisées aux changements climatiques, le manque d’eau, les migrations climatiques dans le monde etc  

Nous devons être net zéro en 2050 et En 2070.

Diminuer les quotas au niveau du carbone soit avec des forêts soit dans l'océan avec le carbone bleu.

Il y a des solutions, des eco systèmes mangroves et de nouvelles energies.

 

La tech est-elle au service de l’environnement ? 

-L'ingénieur Marco Casiraghi répond, nous avons déjà des tech effectives mais pas assez appliquées, comme par exemple les panneaux solaires.

On s’approche de coûts moins importants. Pour accélérer le processus, il faut aider les chercheurs, les jeunes chercheurs (ref solar energy boat) pour éduquer aussi les enfants avec des activités usant des tech innovantes et non polluantes , hélicoptères electriques...

 

-Comment la recherche spatiale peut-elle contribuer à la transition verte ? 

Le Professeur Giovanna Tinetti, chercheur en sciences planétaires galactiques à UCL et collaboratrice ESA , répond que les donnés satellites nous donne la nature des changements avec précision. Monitorer pour comprendre la climatologie et interpréter les satellites et mettre la terre dans un contexte plus large donne aussi des paramètres très intéressants de comparaison dans le temps. 

Les applications d’ici 2050 , monitoring climatic, la "space economy" est une opportunité pour la croissance économique. Il est donc crucial d’avoir des initiatives du privé et du GVT.

giovanna tinetti_Monaco women forum.jpg
_DSC2058.JPG

-Le Dr. Stefano Besseghini, Président de l’Autorité de Règlementation pour l’Énergie et l’Environnement, a indiqué qu'il est difficile de satisfaire tous les partis, consommateurs et autorités. Il faut établir une balance entre énergie et besoins pour éviter le gaspillage. 

L’eau est un des enjeux. Nous ne pouvons pas avoir une seule approche concernant toutes les énergies, il faut une économie opportuniste dépendant des secteurs et ne pas manquer des opportunités. 

Nous introduisons une taxonomie pour réguler l’économie de l’environnement et essayer d’atteindre tous les mêmes objectifs, nous essayons d’ouvrir le champs des possibilités pour appliquer une certaine innovation.

 

-Valentino Iakimov, ingénieur et fondateur de la start-up Sea Further, intervient en rappelant qu'il faut rendre les conducteurs environnementaux green. Il travaille le graphène en grands volumes, ce qui est un avantage économique. Écologiquement, il n’a pas d’approche chimique mais travaille avec des procédés organiques de sels minéraux qui le transforme. Le graphène en poudre pourrait amener à la suppression de métaux rares.

Les financiers se dirigent vers une économie plus verte et une sortie des énergies fossiles 

_DSC2078.JPG
_DSC2081.JPG

- Les interventions se concluent avec celle de Michelle Mitchell, cinéaste et journaliste , qui a révisé son opinion, comme beaucoup elle pensait que l’amélioration de la condition féminine passait par l’éducation mais qui réalise désormais qu'en premier cela passe par la santé! Sans elle rien n'est possible, pour une vie meilleure et plus equitable il faut un accès total aux soins. Choquée, elle évoque l’actualité de ce qui se passe aux USA sur l’avortement et qu’elle considère comme une regression inimaginable pour les femmes. Pour aider les femmes, il faut leur donner accès au poste décisionnaire sur la sécurité et la paix, leurs implications au niveau décisionnaire de ces questions est crucial.

 

Cinzia Sgambati Colman, organisatrice du forum, a conclu la rencontre par une question : que peuvent faire les femmes nées dans les régions les plus favorisées de notre planète ? Et un souhait : que ce forum puisse être un Manifeste pour la transition vers une économie verte et qu'il puisse partir de la Principauté de Monaco.

_DSC2090.JPG
_DSC2111.JPG